top of page
  • Writer's pictureUoW Fashion Society

Reinventing yourself- Is your outfit key?

Fashion means something different to everyone. For some, it’s an art. For others, a hinderance. Maybe it seems pointless, or shallow, maybe you want to look like a model. But regardless of your view, everyone’s sense of style reflects their personality. And dare I say, it can enhance your personality.

The first time I saw the film Rocketman, I was captivated by Elton Johns’ costumes. The colour, the movement, the style. They were all so vivid and full of character. That is when I discovered the true purpose that lies with the power that fashion holds. I wanted to find my style because I wanted to find confidence. Self-drive. And motivation. And from what I’ve gathered, I wasn’t alone. For years I used to copy trends, follow my friends, and dress in outfits that looking back, just weren’t me. Now, I look the polar opposite to my best friend – but I feel confident. And all it took, was a pair of platform shoes and someone passing me by on the street to compliment them, that I began my path to self-discovery.


Your sense of style is unique to you. All of us wear the same outfit differently. You might be following trends, copying models or trying to recreate a look you’ve seen – but ultimately, we all wear our outfits differently. And there is a reason.


Clothes have the power to help with self-image. Self-identity, and confidence. They allow you to find who you are – pairing a pair of platform boots with a mini skirt for example, could make you feel quite literally that your sense of purpose is being awoken. And that confidence helps you not only to grow as a person but defeat negative thoughts and become motivated and self-driven. But, that same pair of platform shoes and mini skirt – while being a real confidence booster in you, can knock some else down. The quite literal lifting you higher off the ground can make some people feeling taller, boosting their ego. But it can make others feel stupid, clumsy. And it’s pointless to try and enhance something that just purely doesn’t work for you. You can admire that pair of shoes without wanting to wear them.


It is true that there are certain ‘rules’ without the fashion industry when pairing an outfit. The rule of three – colours, length, pattern, texture… and personally, that is something I choose to follow. But it makes me less insecure about myself and makes me believe I look good. And when I look good – I feel good. But these rules don’t always have to be the case. You can wear legwarmers over jeans with an anklet. You can wear socks with sandals – who cares? You feeling good about your look is the only confidence you need.


You may not have found your style – maybe you have. Maybe you have an idea of what you’d like it to be, or maybe you found it but you aren’t entirely sure it suits you. You might even fluctuate between style to style at times. The process takes time. Some of you may not even like fashion, but it all comes down to this – we all wear clothes, so you may as well make yourself feel good. It can help you accomplish so many things. Picking an outfit/shopping for clothes doesn’t have to be a chore, and for many of us it isn’t. But think about this. There will have been an outfit or an accessory that you’ve seen or worn in your life that you really, really liked. Maybe it was a watch, or a blazer. Maybe it was simply a pair of jeans. Build a mood board around that piece, build an outfit around that piece – and it’s a start. A start to the new, empowered you. Your whole perspective on life might look different.


I mentioned above that I often follow the rule of three. This rule is very simple – pick 3 colours that are different (can be the same colour, but different shades) that all work in conjunction together. An example of this are earth tones – i.e.: green, brown, and beige. Another rule of three refers to textures and patterns. For example, one plain item, one textured item and one patterned item. I.e.: leather trousers, a patterned top and a plain jacket. These rules are fluid, and they can overlap – e.g.: plain but textured. The final rule of three splits your body into three. Your top half, your middle, and just below your knee. This rule is about the length to which items appear on your body – overall making your outfit seem proportioned. This also overlaps with layers – having a long flowing top and a cropped jacket for example, is normally something I’d avoid. But as I’ve said, every rule has its exception.


Following and enhancing your natural body shape is a way to make yourself feel more comfortable in your clothes. The final rule of three can help with this, but a lot of this will be through trial and error. For example – having a larger bust can mean that many tops and necklines won’t ‘suit’ you. That of course doesn’t mean you can’t wear them, but I often find myself opting for a deeper neckline to accentuate my natural body contours. Researching and trying different items will help you to figure out which style works best for your body.


The right outfit can make you take on the world. If I put on a power suit, I feel determined. I feel confident. I feel motivated. It makes me want to grab a laptop bag, grab a to-go coffee, and become a high-driven business executive. If I put on a long flowing dress I feel delicate and well-to-do. And the right outfit can bring this out in you too – you just need to find it.

19 views0 comments
bottom of page